.

In Support of Portantino's Open Carry Rifle Ban

And why I wish everyone would keep their triggers at home

What do I find scary in Altadena?  Fast traffic on dark roads, power lines in a windstorm, the cello-packed seafood at Ralph’s.  Hot dry days when the mountains are full of brown and brittle brush -- yes, fire scares me.

But I’m not afraid of people; neighbors or strangers with whom I share the streets, parks, shops, gas stations.  Whatever personal safety questions cross my mind, owning a gun, much less carrying a gun, doesn’t offer much of an answer. I suppose I could shoot the Ralph’s salmon, but for heaven’s sakes, it’s been dead far too long already.

Anthony Portantino has to ban the open-carry of rifles in public. This seems like such a reasonable bill, such a no-brainer, I’ve been nonplussed by the sturm and drang emanating from the gun advocate corner.  I wonder about all these folks who are afraid to leave the house unescorted, without a lethal weapon by their side. I wonder what extra baggage, besides that rifle and ammo clip, they might be carrying.  Murder doesn’t even make the top 10 causes of death in the US. In fact, murder at the hand of another doesn’t even beat suicide, and neither comes close to death by accident and death by disease.

With all the noise and obfuscation, it might have escaped notice that the proposed bill has absolutely no impact on one’s ability to keep a firearm in the privacy of one’s own home. 

Correct me if I’m wrong (just don’t do it in all caps), but it’s pretty darned easy to buy a firearm for the home.  You don’t have to prove much of anything, other than citizenship or thereabouts, and enough good sense or good luck to have kept your nose clean, legally speaking.  Other than that, you don’t need any special training, just the ability to cool your heels for a brief period until the permit arrives in the mail.

As far as I can tell, there’s not even a minimum vision requirement.

But some gun advocates feel their rights are in danger if they’re not able to flash their guns and ammo in public. Well, this member of the public feels her rights are very much in danger if they’re able to do so. And not just because of the intimidation factor. There is no guarantee that whoever carries a gun has any sense of aim, any sense of how of when to use a lethal weapon, or any sense, period.

Much as some folks would like to believe we’re all still living on the OK Corral, we’re not.  Things have changed, and the hands on the clock are no longer stuck at high noon.

I was about to say I’d continue to fight against concealed weapons and open carry, but then, I haven’t really been fighting it. I just do what takes the least amount of effort and cast a vote for any politician who agrees with me; who agrees it’s for the greater good if Trigger stays home at the stable.

If you’re really concerned about personal safety, stop smoking and texting while driving. And here’s a cheap fix: buy some plastic appliqués. In the U.S., the odds of death by an accidental fall are far, far greater than the odds of losing your life at the hands of another human being. So keep an eye on that most slippery of characters--your bathtub, as you step in and step out. Don't trust it for a second.

Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:07 AM
More, same website... • Burglar Was Interrupted By Family, Shot in Foot (ME) • Business Owner Shoots One of Six Burglars, Others Captured (OK) • Store Clerk Ends Armed Robbery With A Single Gunshot (NC) • Visitor Shoots, Kills One of Several Home Invaders (TX) • Homeowner at Home w/ Daughter Shoots Home Invader Through Door (TX) • Woman Pepper Sprayed By Home Invader, Gets Gun, Shoots Back (MO) • Alleged burglar fatally shot by homeowner in South Everett (WA) • National Guardsman thwarts Red Line robbery; 3 teens arrested (IL) • Dyer man shoots at suspected police impostor (IN) • Syracuse police: Armed robber meets armed store clerk; clerk wins (NY) • Homeowner Confronts Car Thief, Shoots Thief Once After Altercation (AL) • Woman Shoots Ex-Boyfriend Who Broke Into Her Home In the Face (OH) • 90 Year Old Retired Sheriff’s Deputy and WW2 Pilot Shoots Intruder (CA) • 7-11 Clerk Shoots, Wounds Armed Robber Who Was Then Caught (VA) • Police: 84-year-old man kills intruder (9-1-1 audio available) (OH) • Las Vegas Pawn Shop Employee Shoots, Kills Armed Robber (NV) • Armed neighbor stops burglary (TX) • Home invasion ends with suspect’s stabbing (WA) • Blanchard woman shoots and kills intruder (OK) • Wendy’s Employee Shoots, Kills 1 of 2 Armed Robbers (GA) • Teenager Shoots, Kills Home Invader With Shotgun (TN)
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:10 AM
More, same web site. Review of the oldest date on these actual police incidents is 12/14/11. If one were to review these 3 other web sites with this data, KC3, Armed Citizen, American Rifleman (there are many others), you will count on average 80 incidents a month. Since the NRA or 80 mil law abiding gun owners do not own or operate any police departments, claimed bias by anyone would be rather childish and naieve. • Fort Worth Woman Shoots & Kills Home Intruder (TX) • Couple Shoots At, Captures Intruder On Drugs (OR) • Retired Police Officer Shoots Career Criminal/Home Invader (MI) • Home Invader Who Was Wearing Body Armor, Shot, Killed (NC) • DGU Puts Kroger in a Jam Over Employee Gun Policy (IN) • Wife Shoots Homeless Squatter Who Attacked Husband (SC) • Pistol-packing mayor draws heat (AL) • Man stabbed to death after breaking into home (KY) • Aloha couple wakes up to man beating them with tiki torch (OR) • 2 shot in gunfire exchange at coney island on Detroit's west side (MI) • Investigators try to determine if a fatal Montgomery County shooting was justified (PA) • Magalia man shot to death after forcing way into home (CA) • Reno police say resident shoots intruder twice and puts him in the hospital (NV)
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:12 AM
Lets review the following 10 mass shootings, and note what the body counts were where resistance occurred versus no resistance. October 16, 1991, Luby’s Cafeteria, Killeen, TX, “Gun-Free”: 1 gunman, 23 murdered, 20 injured. April 20, 1999, Columbine, “Gun-Free”: 2 gunmen, 13 murdered, 24 injured. Many were murdered AFTER the police were “on scene”. April 16, 2007, Virginia Tech, “Gun-Free”: 1 gunman, 32 murdered, 25 injured. Most were murdered AFTER the police were “on scene”. Feb 14,2008 Northern Illinois University, 1 gunman, 5 dead, 18 injured, gunman kills self long before police arrive to engage. Nov 5 ,2009 Ft Hood Texas, 1 gunman, 13 dead, 30 wounded. Military personnel on base are BANNED from having a weapon, but the shooter did, and it was almost 9 minutes before police responded Gun Free Zone 5 incidents Defenseless victims murdered: 86 Defenseless victims injured: 117
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:13 AM
December 17, 1991 Shoney’s Family Restaurant, Anniston, AL: 3 gunmen, 20 hostages, one ARMED customer (Thomas Glenn Terry). Police finally arrived to find one dead robber, one wounded robber and the third had fled when the shooting started. NO INJURED INNOCENTS. October 1, 1997, Pearl High School: 1 gunman, 2 murdered, 7 injured: Stopped by ARMED vice principal. January 16, 2002, Virginia Appalachian School of Law: 1 gunman, 3 murdered, 3 injured. Killer was stopped when confronted by two ARMED students. Dec 9 2007, Colorado Springs, New Life Church, 1 gunman 2 murdered, 3 injured, gunman stopped when armed woman shoots gunman, who then turns gun on self and commits suicide, while 100 other church members are in church. May 4th, College Station Georgia 2 gunman, 10 victims, 1 dead gunman, 1 victim wounded. The 2 thugs robbing a party begin discussing if they have enough bullets to do the job. One man retrieves his firearm, kills one thug, chases the other off. Where murderers encountered ARMED resistance 5 incidents murdered: 7 Where murderers encountered ARMED resistance; injured: 14 Wow, where no resistance occurred 9 plus times higher body count. Yep, a higher body count is morally superior to a lower body count based on some anti gun zealots beliefs.
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:16 AM
We assume since you plan and prepare for the worst case sceanrio that you have life, car, home, and medical insurance as being preapred is not insane right? So maybe you can then explain why the public who understands how impotent the police are, is wrong for planning and preparing for the worst case scenario of having to defend themselves? Why is it, that the police, whose best response times are 4 minutes, avg 15-20 minutes can only solve 8.75% of all violent crimes committed on a yearly basis? FBI UCR 2008 1.38 mil VCR (Violent Crime Reported) 49% solved to prosecution, 80% success rate. But oh wait, we have to remember those 4.8 million violent crimes the government recognizes that were not reported USDOJ National Victimization report 2008. So based on that (1.38 mil x 49%) x 80%) / 1.38 mil + 4.8 mil = 8.75% of the violent crimes committed are solved each year.
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:17 AM
Whats this, oh government rulings on whom doesnt have to obey gun control laws. http://supreme.justia.com/us/390/85/ Haynes vs. U.S. 390 U.S. 85 1968 where the US Supreme Court ruled 8-1 in favor of Haynes that any law requiring a felon to self incriminate themselves and violate their 5th amendment rights was not enforceable as a charge for prosecution. Hence criminals don't have to follow 85% of the existing gun control laws that do so, e.g. your stolen weapons, registrations, etc.... Amazing how the criminals don't have to obey these laws yet only law-abiding citizens do? This just validates the hypocrisy that laws affect only the felons! After all, 20,000 gun laws and we see how effective a piece of legislation is at stopping violence because if it did, there wouldn't be ANY VIOLENT CRIME.
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:18 AM
The courts have ruled the police have no duty to protect individuals:
Bowers v. DeVito, 686 F.2d 616 (7th Cir. 1982) (no federal constitutional requirement that police provide protection) Calogrides v. Mobile, 475 So. 2d 560 (Ala. 1985); Cal Govt. Code 845 (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Calogrides v. Mobile, 846 (no liability for failure to arrest or to retain arrested person in custody) Davidson v. Westminster, 32 Cal.3d 197, 185, Cal. Rep. 252; 649 P.2d 894 (1982) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Stone v. State 106 Cal.App.3d 924, 165 Cal Rep. 339 (1980) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Morgan v. District of Columbia, 468 A.2d 1306 (D.C.App. 1983) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Warren v. District of Columbia, 444 A.2d 1 (D.C.App 1981) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Sapp v. Tallahassee, 348 So.2d 363 (Fla. App. 1st Dist.), cert. denied 354 So.2d 985 (Fla. 1977); Ill. Rec. Stat. 4-102 (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Keane v. Chicago, 98 Ill. App.2d 460, 240 N.E.2d 321 (1st Dist. 1968) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Jamison v. Chicago, 48 Ill. App. 3d 567 (1st Dist. 1977) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Simpson’s Food Fair v. Evansville, 272 N.E.2d 871 (Ind. App.) (no liability for failure to provide police protection)
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:22 AM
Here is a few more... Silver v. Minneapolis, 170 N.W.2d 206 (Minn. 1969) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Wuetrich V. Delia, 155 N.J. Super. 324, 326, 382, A.2d 929, 930 cert. denied 77 N.J. 486, 391 A.2d 500 (1978) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Chapman v. Philadelphia, 290 Pa. Super. 281, 434 A.2d 753 (Penn. 1981) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) Morris v. Musser, 84 Pa. Cmwth. 170, 478 A.2d 937 (1984) (no liability for failure to provide police protection) “Law enforcement agencies and personnel have no duty to protect individuals from the criminal acts of others.” -Lynch vs North Carolina Department of Justice 1989
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 11:22 AM
Hey lets articulate what the real risk of people carrying in public/concealed, same thing. ATF Max 8 million CPL's US, approximately 186 million age 21 or older or 4.3% of the people licensed for CPL. Possible deaths from CPL holders in 3 year time span from Violence Policy Center report 2009, 137 or 45 per year equals .00000562 per concealed license holder. You can also review Florida's data on CCW at http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/stats/cw_monthly.html it says the same thing. JAMA http://jama.ama-assn.org/cgi/content/full/286/4/415 700,000 doctors in US kill 44,000 to 98,000 by medical malpractice every year or .065 to .14 per physician. Physician is .065 or .14 /.00000562 = 12,000 to 25,000 times more likely to harm you than a CPL holder. So where is the risk from concealed carry holders and why aren't you crying to ban doctors? Based on your what if theory, any parent taking a child to a doctor should be reported to child protective services based on what the doctor "might do"!
Baird Tarr February 01, 2012 at 02:38 PM
"If that's the case, you don't need a gun." Your position on my rights seems crystal clear. Would you care to make other important decisions based on what you think is best for me or what I need? I don't 'need' a lot of things Karin. Do you also think that our elected official(Portantino) needs to take the oath, that made him swear to protect and uphold the Constitution(including that pesky Bill of Rights), like it is a sacred trust? Or is it just a hollow promise that means nothing to you or him?
Landon Reynolds February 01, 2012 at 03:13 PM
Perhaps to educate yourself, you can try something simple, which I do, and I write commentaries on every day: Use Google and search for ‘Homeowner Shoots Intruder’, or ‘Customer Shoots Robbery Suspect’, or ‘Concealed Carry In Action’, even ‘Clerk Shoots robbery Suspect’. You might be surprised at how many crimes are thwarted every day in America by a law-abiding citizen with a firearm. And you might also be surprised by the ‘Crime Prevention’ that is carried out when one of the ‘criminal element’ in society if ‘dispatched’ thus preventing that criminal from EVER committing another crime! And, as a bonus, it saves the taxpayers $$$ Thousands!
Landon Reynolds February 01, 2012 at 03:16 PM
"There is no guarantee that whoever carries a gun has any sense of aim, any sense of how of when to use a lethal weapon, or any sense, period." You are obviously not 'in tune' with 'reality'. The overwhelming majority of gun owners know their weapons very well, as well as the laws of self-defense such as 'Castle Doctrine' for each state. They also know how to use that weapon properly. Most spend quite a bit of time on the range in practice, and most know that the primary target is 'Center of Mass' to eliminate the target.
Robby February 01, 2012 at 06:07 PM
When I was a field scientist, our group always had a rifle in camp when we were in the back of beyond. It was most certainly for protection against the types of people you encounter in the trackless back of beyond, and not for critters. Never needed it, thank goodness. I also wore a whistle, which I used once. There are a startling number of people in wilderness areas who steal equipment/camping gear, or who do not want to be found, and have what you might call poor social skills. We also received instruction in recognizing pot plants in forested areas, and to run like **** the other way if we encountered them. And this was many years ago...I can't imagine that it is any better now. Not that this adds trememdously to the debate about open carry in urban areas, but it might be kind of interesting for people who don't do backcountry camping. I miss my field days sometimes. =) And for the record, I have zero problem with CCW or open carry. I have faith in my fellow citizens...and the bad guys have guns anyway.
Lisa Hastings February 01, 2012 at 07:12 PM
GUN people, why not advocate for the right to bear nuclear arms and missles and other weapons of mass destruction? You don't do that because this is not really about the principle of the matter, or the constitutional right to bear arms (which one could argue includes the right to bear weapons of mass destruction). This is about the right to be macho and fantasize about the wild west and about comparing the tiny size of your you know what to the next guy. REAL men advocate peace and love and being kind to children and animals.
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 09:28 PM
You do realize that W Eugene Hollon back in the 1970's using official government death records reviewed the wild west during its wildest days from 1870-1885 and found only 45 deaths by illegal use of firearms, or a 1 per 100k people rate. Now using FBI UCR database from 2008 for three of the anti gun fiefdoms Chicago 12.3 deaths per 100k people, NYC 4.3 deaths per 100k people, and Washington D.C. 23.6 deaths per 100k people, we see the facts clearly show the wild west as far safer than any anti gun paradise. So knowing that the wild west is only a figment of your unsubstantiated and over active imagination based on hollywood and dime store novel fantasies, you really shouldnt use that reference again or do you enjoy the taste of your own foot stuck in your mouth?
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 09:29 PM
Past experience with gun control leaders such as Annette "Flirty" Stevens (Illinois Million Mom March president caught with drugs and a de-serialized handgun), Sheila Eccleston (Mothers Against Violence, imprisoned for possessing a sawed-off shotgun), James Kelly (Seattle Urban League anti-gunner caught brandishing a handgun during an argument), Bart Stupak (champion of mandatory federal trigger locks whose son later committed suicide with dad's unlocked gun), and Barbara Graham (DC Million Mom March activist convicted of a revenge shooting of an innocent person who HADN'T killed her son) suggests that frustrated gun control activists tend to go out with a bang rather than a whimper. The moral is, if you ever happen to come across Dennis Henigan, or another anti gun extremist take cover. You don't want to be at Ground Zero when they reach their ultimate frustration level and go postal on everyone near them.
Jarhead1982 February 01, 2012 at 09:30 PM
Wow, you going to spend the money to build, keep, and maintain a nuclear weapon? How much does that cost? How many people in the world are rich enough to do so, .005% , 00005%, ,000000005%, do tell how your raving response is answered and we can point you to the people who you need to fear as they are the only ones who could afford such a device. Your arguement is strawman that is irrelevent to the anti freedom being promoted by the author of this article! But we do appreciate you demonstrating who is emotionally unstable by use of pathetic sexual innuendos and emotional ka ka that demonstrates that people like yourself are of extremely llimited intelligence and mentally incapable of developing an intelligent arguement. Sane people use facts to demonstrate a need to limit a right. All you use is emotional rhetoric that means nothing in the real world Lisa. So either growup like an adult and develop a fact based arguement that can sway the other side and debunk all the GOVERNMENT facts or go cry somewhere else as we are rather tired of seeing non intelligent replies like your ranting spiel
Jim In Houston February 01, 2012 at 09:32 PM
"GUN people, why not advocate for the right to bear nuclear arms and missles and other weapons of mass destruction? " "Gun people" do not make those stupid arguments...only anti-rights people do that. "You don't do that because this is not really about the principle of the matter, or the constitutional right to bear arms (which one could argue includes the right to bear weapons of mass destruction). " No, it's because we UNDERSTAND that the 2A applies to individual, portable arms suitable for militia service. Anti-gunners do not have that comprehension. "This is about the right to be macho and fantasize about the wild west and about comparing the tiny size of your you know what to the next guy." Your infantilism shows how badly you've lost the argument....and I am very kind to children and animals.
deputycleric February 01, 2012 at 10:27 PM
You don't do that because this is not really about the principle of the matter, or the constitutional right to bear arms" Sigh. You didn't really read the thread, did you? "REAL men advocate peace and love and being kind to children and animals." As a person who both advocates and practices peace, love and being kind to children and animals, I also understand that those things need, occasionally, to be protected from violent individuals who care nothing for them. Doing nothing but calling 911 and then waiting 30-60 minutes for a response, while saying "but but but I advocate peace and love!" while a mugger or intruder murders one's family, and then in all likelihood walks away to commit more violence... do you really consider that situation morally superior to one where a parent sees to it that they have the means AND the right to either convincingly scare away such an attacker or effectively stop him in the act?
Lisa Hastings February 02, 2012 at 03:03 AM
Forget guns! If you are sleeping or in the shower (remember Psycho!) when they come to get you, your guns are worthless! My pack of viscous dogs, Altadena-style front and back yard wall, and noisy and aggressive geese have got me covered and are a far more superior means of protection than your cache of rifles and handguns.
Lisa Hastings February 02, 2012 at 03:04 AM
Gotta love all the PARANOID characters from afar who come out of the woodwork and introduce themselves once the word GUN is mentioned! We never hear from these people on other matters of importance in Altadena!
Jarhead1982 February 02, 2012 at 03:33 AM
Wow, Lisa believes she is God, all knowing, omniprescent therefore everyone should bow to her incessent rants and raves based on her own delusions. MMMmmmm, doggie & goose suprise, both are delicious, ever traveled to Asia? My dog wont come near me for about a week when I get home so am absolutely sure puppy dog was on the menu even though I never order it. As for goose, when marinated and slow roasted beer can style, outstanding, although a time consuming pain to pluck all the feathers properly. So the question is how many chiuahua's do you have and you really believe a dog will stop a determined attacker, ROTFLMFAO, ROTFLMFAO, ROTFLMFAO. You have been watching too much hollywood fantasies again poor widdle girl. Beatnicks like you are supposed to be loving and caring, so viscous dogs are entirely out of character so pardon us when we say you have told a widdle fib, poor demented girl. Just because you post lies on Altadena doesnt make them true or facts so why should we not pay attention to correct said lies? Por widdle girl, please let the local authorities know where you are so we can protect the public from your brand of schizophrenia and send the men in white with the butterfly nets. It really is for your own protection that you should be locked up as we really dont want to upset you too much as we know how anti gun extremists have a tendency to go postal and violent when people wont buy the brand of snake oil they are trying to sell.
Dan MacPherson February 02, 2012 at 03:56 AM
Lisa- I'm from Altadena. 51 years here. I'm sorry, but you are being very immature. yes, this article was published on the world wide web. It has been read. I have noticed several drive by shootings, fatalities, all within the Lincoln/Altadena drive area. All recently. MOST of the replies here are well thought out and politely stated. Yours (and a few others) are not. VBW Dan MacPherson
Matthew Orton February 02, 2012 at 07:12 AM
Karin, You MAY be right about what the top killers are: Heart disease, cancer, diabetes, etc. Unfortunately these are all what we would call in the past "natural causes". There are things we can do in the HOPES of deterring them, but nothing we can do can completely stop them. But when you are trying to compare them to the dangers of being armed outside your home, you're just being ridiculous. Apples and oranges. While I'm talking about pretenses here, you are also only including mortality rates as opposed to assault & murder rates, that is a bit skewed. I am curious, however, how your "rights" are being infringed by another person exercising their rights? "this member of the public feels her rights are very much in danger if they’re able to do so" You also go on to question the sense that an armed person might have in any given scenario but I ask you this, how many LICENSED drivers have no aim, or no sense? I welcome any dialogue you may bring and am truly interested in hearing your viewpoint provided I'm given the opportunity to retort.
Revvell February 02, 2012 at 04:04 PM
Actually, that's not true.
Natalie February 02, 2012 at 04:23 PM
You got it, Lisa. I don't feel at all scared in the wilderness, and have never ever been threatened. Never thought I'd be more courageous than these male wimps who have to carry a weapon because they're so scared of strangers and animals.
Revvell February 02, 2012 at 05:19 PM
Funny how when people are being ignorant they think they are courageous. There are MANY women who've been out running, thinking everything is o.k. until they are grabbed, raped and killed. Were they courageous or ignorant? Here in Altadena, a woman was near Blockbuster, grabbed and molested. Unarmed. Courageous or ignorant? I can't legally carry a gun here on the streets but I CAN carry pepper spray and I do. I never leave home without it ~ AND, I don't carry it in the bottom of my purse (that would be as ignorant and carrying an unloaded gun), I carry it in my hand. Am I courageous? Well, I'm not ignorant enough to think that because I "think" nothing will happen, it doesn't mean it wont. I've heard too many stories of people and/or their pets being mauled by other dogs. I've heard too many stories of people (women) being grabbed, raped, beaten. I AM courageous and I'm not ignorant and I am a woman and I support EVERYONE owning a gun or at the very least (as one of my students just did), learn how to use one.
Jarhead1982 February 02, 2012 at 07:17 PM
So what your saying Natalie is that your the spitting image of a 6' 5" 400 lbs of 1970's Communist East German Womens shot putter all roided out. Yeah, we can see how you wouldnt be afraid of anything much less ever assaulted as animals as big and tough as Grizzlies are smart enough to know when they are outclassed. Ever hear the tale of the old man pulled over by the police officer. Officer: You wouldnt be carrying any weapons Old Man: Why yes officer, I have my .38 spcl along with my permit Officer: You dont have any other weapons do you Old Man: Why yes, I have my .45 colt and 30-30 lever action rifle in the trunk as well Officer: Uh what are you afraid of sir Old Man: Not one damn thing But hey, you dont buy or have life, car, home, or medical insurance because on your irrelevant beliefs, to be prepared for the worst case scenario is insane! Come back when you have more to offer than emotionally useless drivel.
Baird Tarr February 06, 2012 at 04:36 PM
I'd like to throw down a challenge to Karin and Dan. How about some real investigatvie journalism? Why don't you research your local Sheriff's policy on granting Concealed Carry Permits? It should be all a matter of public records. Is your local sheriff honest and have a clear, CONSISTANT policy where an average joe can obtain a permit? Or, is there a back room kind of 'Good Old Boys' club that rewards major campagin contributors? The issue of open carry is a protest about corruption as practiced by our elected officials. Consider this a fat, slow, pitch right down the center of the plate. Do you sit on it and wait for something better? Or do you take advantage of the offering?
Jim Cabernoch July 30, 2012 at 11:12 PM
'Nuff said--"Leave the Second Amendment alone". There's a reason that it's there, no matter what the decade or century. Also--if I want to take my rifle to the range for some safe and controlled shooting, how would I get it to the car? Open carry has to be allowed for some occasions. Additionally, I don't believe that most folks that purchase rifles do so for home protection. The shooting community considers most of them to too powerful for use inside a home; a shotgun would be much better for that situation.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »